Call or Text Henri at 908-461-0303

Boating Safety Course2022-04-22T15:00:23-04:00

IT’S REQUIRED BY LAW

New Jersey
Boat Safety Course

In New Jersey, anyone 16 years of age or older must successfully complete a boater safety course approved by The New Jersey State Police in order to operate a motorboat or a personal watercraft (PWC).

View Our Schedule

SHORE BOATING SCHOOL

New Jersey
Boat Safety Course

The advantage of taking an in person class with a live instructor is that you can get your questions answered and explore varies topics at great depth. The in person class is usually completed in one day or two nights for a total of 8 hours as required by law.

Register Below
Do I need a boating license?2022-01-19T14:54:21-05:00

A boat license and New Jersey Boat Safety Certificate are required to operate a power vessel or personal watercraft – jet ski or wave runner – on non-tidal waters of New Jersey. A boat license is not required for non-powered vessels.

I have a Boat Safety Certificate from another State and I am moving to New Jersey, will New Jersey issue a certificate based on that?2022-01-19T14:51:58-05:00

 No. The Marine Services Bureau can only issue New Jersey Boat Safety Certificates for successfully completed approved New Jersey courses.

I am visiting New Jersey, do I need a Boat Safety Certificate?2022-01-19T14:51:08-05:00

To operate a vessel upon the waters of this State, an individual would need one of the following: a Boat Safety Certificate issued in their home State, a New Jersey Boat Safety Certificate, United States Coast Guard Captain’s License, or written proof of completion of a safety course approved by N.A.S.B.L.A. or one substantially similar to a New Jersey Course.

What is a Boating Safety Certificate?2022-01-19T14:50:49-05:00
What is a Boat License?2022-01-19T14:49:17-05:00

It is an endorsement on your New Jersey Driver’s License or ID card that allows you to operate a vessel on non-tidal waters. It is not a replacement for your Boating Safety Certificate, but an additional required document for non-tidal waters.

SHORE BOATING SCHOOL

Private Group
Boat Safety Course

Shore Boating School is happy to accommodate you and your friends/family with a private class in your home or office. This is a great way to take the class as it can be tailored to the specific needs and interests of your group.

NJ law requires that the class be done in one 8 hour session or two 3 hour sessions with 2 hours of homework. You are free to set the times for the start and end of the course. (Within reason, please). Weekend classes are the most popular with limited date availability. Please keep in mind that the NJSP requires at least a weeks notice.

Minimum fee’s apply call Henri 908-461-0303 for details and agreements.

Inquire Below

SHORE BOATING SCHOOL

Online Boat

Safety Course

The State of New Jersey now allows students to take the boating safety class online, with an in-person proctored test.

Coming Soon
boat license for boat safety course

REGISTER TODAY

New Jersey
Boating Safety Course

The advantage of taking an in person class with a live instructor is that you can get your questions answered and explore varies topics at great depth. The in person class is usually completed in one day or two nights for a total of 8 hours as required by law.

Go to Top